New to Veggies, starting over for Fall

SakuraSundries(9)September 9, 2012

Hi everyone, I'm new to vegetable gardening, just finished cleaning up after a semi-failed late spring season. I got things in the ground too late and then we had SO much rain, many things failed.

But we're starting over, possibly a little late again, but I'm going for it anyway. Spent all day yesterday building new raised beds, and hope to add more in the next month (in preparation for spring planting).

My question is this, what do you grow in the fall with success, and what would you recommend for me to try?

I'm located in Tampa, my garden areas range from almost excessive sun to part-sun. I am using raised beds, square foot beds (raised w/ Mel's mix), containers/pots, and a hydro-stacker system. I'll hopefully be restarting my old gardening blog and getting pictures of the areas up soon, but there's too much storming today to get out with camera.

I would love to (in the correct time) plant carrots, beets, various lettuces and greens, peas, beans, squash, potatoes, garlic, onions, shallots, leeks and tons of other stuff.

So what are your recommendations and favorites! Thanks in advance :)

Thank you for reporting this comment. Undo
zzackey(8b GA)

I would recommend you check with your local ag center for advice on what to grow now.

Bookmark   September 9, 2012 at 4:36PM
Beopposed(9)

I have posted a link below that I have found extremely helpful. Actually, this entire site has been an excellent source for information for me. I am also located in Tampa :).

Here is a link that might be useful: Florida Vegetable Gardening Guide

Bookmark   September 9, 2012 at 7:34PM
SakuraSundries(9)

Thanks for the link, I've found a lot of information around online... I guess I'm just curious what other people are actually doing. Sometimes I feel like there is a disconnect between what is posted on sites and what real people are finding works for them.

Bookmark   September 11, 2012 at 11:56AM