What to do with last jar when it is only half full?

gsevensAugust 23, 2009

When making pickles, relish, or anything I guess, what do you do with the last jar you are canning? What if you do not have enough to fill jar? Say you are doing pickles and you can only fill jar halfway, but you have enough brine to fill. Do you fill to 1/2" from top with brine, or is this a jar that always goes to the fridge?

I'm new to canning. I've done one batch of Linda Lou's Famous Sweet Chunks, and a sweet relish. The sweet relish was supposed to make 3 pints. If I divided into 3 pints, each was only 2/3 full. I had enough brine to fill 3 but didn't know what would happen so I made in into 2 pints instead.

Thanks,

Paul

Thank you for reporting this comment. Undo
digdirt2(6b-7a No.Cent. AR HZ8 Sun-35)

For me it all depends on what the food is.

Say you are doing pickles and you can only fill jar halfway, but you have enough brine to fill.

Yeah in that case I'd fill the jar and process it with the rest. Pickles need time to turn into pickles. You could just put it in the fridge but since you have the brine - make pickles with it.

We did B&B pickles today and had left overs - too much for a pint but not enough for a quart. So we put them in a quart and filled it with brine and processed them all. It looks funny - 1/2 quart of pickles floating in all that brine but at least I know they are safe and can be stored. ;)

On the sweet relish - either approach is ok as long as making only 2 pints didn't overfill the jars. I would have done 2 jars to the normal fill line and, like the pickles, filled the 3rd jar with the leftovers and extra brine and processed it too. You can always drain it some when open.

Dave

Bookmark   August 23, 2009 at 10:24PM
momj47(7A)

I usually put it in the fridge and use it first.

Bookmark   August 23, 2009 at 10:52PM
readinglady(z8 OR)

I always prepare a smaller jar.

Carol

Bookmark   August 23, 2009 at 11:48PM
ksrogers(EasternMass Z6)