Magnolia Tree hasn't grown an inch in SIX years

ShedrachOctober 7, 2012

Hello. I am bit perplexed. I was given a potted Magnolia Tree from a friend about six years ago. It was about four and half feet tall. I planted it in the front yard. The front yard gets full sun nearly all day. There are no other substantial bushes, trees or shrubs within 15 feet of the Magnolia. It blooms every year and looks quite healthy. YET..it has not grown one single inch in height since I planted it! Is this unusual? I began to wonder if it might be a Dwarf Magnolia but I understand that even those grow to 20 or so feet. Any clues? I am stumped. Cheers.

Thank you for reporting this comment. Undo
slopfrog

I'm no expert on magnolias (I rather hate them, actually, due to many childhood hours wasted raking tens of thousands of their leaves and picking up their horrible seed pods) but that doesn't sound right at all.

First thing, was it root bound when you planted it? If the roots were all tight and balled up in a small pot, then often that tree will get permanently stunted because it can't develop a proper root system.

Barring that, are you fertilizing the tree and ensuring micronutrients are available? And is there grass growing underneath the tree? St. Augustine grass in particular will gobble up every bit of water and nutrients and not let the tree get what it needs to grow. What about soil conditions there? Is perpetually wet or dry? I wonder if pH makes a difference for these trees.

Bookmark   October 7, 2012 at 1:53PM
jofus(9b/10a Englewood, Fl)

Are you sure you don't have a dwarf " Little Gem " magnolia tree ? What about the beautiful white flowers in spring,..none of them either ?