help weed spur pokey things !!!!!!!

momof2sweetiesOctober 25, 2007

HI,

I am new to Florida and have over a acre. We have centipede grass slowly taking over ( which we want ) but, we have these weed grass things growing all over that have little "SPUR" like really pokey things growing they stick on us and our poor dog. We have been pulling them out but they are EVERY where. Does anyone know what they are and what I can do to get rid of them.

Thank you!!!

Thank you for reporting this comment. Undo
manature(9B Sanford, FL)

Welcome to Florida, and welcome to the absolute WORST weed of all, sandspurs! They are horrible! When they stick in your bare feet, it's just miserable, because they have little barbs on them that break off and HUUUURT!

I don't know how one gets rid of them, other than pulling. Maybe a weed killer would work, but would probably destroy your centipede grass. I'm sure someone here can tell you whether to try something like RoundUp, or a pre-emergent weed killer, or a flame thrower or something. These folks are pretty knowledgeable about stuff like this.

I'm just GLAD that sandspurs are one weed we don't have in our yard. (Maybe the ONLY one.)

Good luck!
Marcia

Bookmark   October 25, 2007 at 4:21PM
barbcoleus(z10 Cape Coral,Fl)

Sandspurs are the only thing I don't like about Florida. Unfortunately I think you have to pull them out. If you use Roundup, they die but those little barbs are still there. Hopefully I'm wrong.

Barb

Bookmark   October 25, 2007 at 8:52PM
olyagrove(z9 Tampa, FL)

I have had a bunch, but through constant pulling/picking have reduced the population to almost none. My husband and I would come out with a bucket and a shovel, and do a patch at a time.
I am against using RounUp or any other herbicide...I will rather do it the harder way (manual labor...that is)

Good luck with your battle!
Olya

Bookmark   October 25, 2007 at 9:04PM
Jan Sword