Is this H. fungii?

ima_diggerJuly 11, 2011

I got a cutting a few years back and it has grown quite a bit. It was supposed to be fungii. After looking at pictures of other fungii, I'm not so sure. This picture is from last year. If it gets too much sun the leaves get light in color. I've moved it to a different location and the leaves are changing in color, getting darker.

Here's the peduncle

Thank you for reporting this comment. Undo
kidsandcats(7)

Hi, ima! It looks like a carnosa to me, but I'm not really an expert, so you may want to wait for some others to chime in on this one.

Bookmark   July 11, 2011 at 9:47AM
puglvr1(9b central FL)

Its beautiful Ima! I agree with KC. It looks like a Carnosa to me also! At least that's my guess...

Bookmark   July 11, 2011 at 12:19PM
mdahms1979

I agree because the darker contrasting veins are abscent from your plants leaves. Your plant looks so nice and healthy but does this mean you now have more than one carnosa now that it has been identified as something other than the name it came with?

Mike

Bookmark   July 11, 2011 at 5:56PM
denise_gw

I think what you have there is an obovata x. carnosa. Here's mine...

It's a great grower and faithful bloomer.

Denise in Omaha

Bookmark   July 11, 2011 at 7:37PM
ima_digger

Denise, the leaves on my plant resemble yours. I really didn't think it was fungii, but didn't think it was carnosa because of the rounded leaves. Leaves are quite large. The flowers look like carnosa flowers though. Oh well! Whatever it is, I love it. It blooms every year at this time and flowers last quite long, almost a full week or more.

Bookmark   July 11, 2011 at 7:53PM
mdahms1979

There are several different forms of Hoya carnosa and some do have these more rounded leaves. The variety shown in the link is a good example of a large round leafed carnosa variety that was once called Hoya freaklea.