Does anyone know???

shellys4811May 16, 2009

I have been feeding hummers here for over 10 years. I have always had plenty of them - enough to empty three large feeders in a couple of days! Suddenly, after seeing a couple during the end of April, I dont see them at all! I'm really sad, because I have always enjoyed sitting and watching them for hours and now - NONE!

Does anybody have a clue as to why I dont see them anymore? Or is anyone else having the same problem? I haven't changed anything that I've been doing in the past, so I just can't figure this out. Please help!

Thanks,

Shelly

Thank you for reporting this comment. Undo
rob_a(9)

I often have fewer hummers after a cold front and thunder storms in the spring. But in a few days, the activity at the feeders is back to normal. Haven't you had some bad weather there in KY lately?
Rob

Bookmark   May 16, 2009 at 5:02PM
mastergardenerfrank(Zone6/New Jerse)

Have you had excessive heat lately? It does not take much for the nectar to spoil. If it does it is tough to get them to come back this season. Sometimes if you move the feeders to different locations you can get them back this year, the little buggers have great memory.
Hope this helps.
Frank

Bookmark   May 16, 2009 at 8:13PM
shellys4811

Thanks so much for the answers!

Rob - As a matter of fact, we have had an abundance of bad weather back to back for several weeks! So your post makes perfect sense! And our temps have been much, much cooler than normal!

Frank - Actually, as said above, temps have been on the cool side lately. I am careful not to let my nectar spoil, but thanks for trying to help. I really do appreciate that!

Maybe after Mother Nature get things back to normal, my little friends will make an appearance.

Thank you again!
Shelly

Bookmark   May 17, 2009 at 7:15PM
mimidi(z8)