pinching

jree(z6 TN)March 8, 2004

my impatiens have gotten sort of tall. they look healthy and have about 8 to 10 nice leaves on them. is it ok to pinch them back? this is my first year with these.

thanks

Thank you for reporting this comment. Undo
Dave_zone_5(Zone 5a/4b Wisc)

sure, they can be pinched no problem. If you want more stick the "pinchings" in moist potting soil.

Bookmark   March 8, 2004 at 11:13PM
kdjoergensen

Absolutely. Pinching impatiens actually results in many more flowers. Pinch them back to 2-4 leaves. When the new growing points are out you can pinch these back again if you like. Count on stopping the pinching 3-4 weeks before flowering is desired.

As mentioned above, you can root impatiens from cuttings (pinchings) very easily. Simply place them along the rim of a flower pot in well draining potting soil. Enclose the pot in a plastic bag and place in a warm place in indirect light (or near fluorescent light source). Check daily and mist the foliage. in a week to 10 days they will root. You can also root them in water in a vase, but change the water daily. Once roots form, repot in small pots.

Pinch cuttings back as soon as they have rooted well into their pots. Count on flowering 4-5 weeks from making the cuttings.

Bookmark   March 9, 2004 at 2:41PM
jree(z6 TN)

thanks for the replies, i thought you could pinch but i didn't know the cuttings would root that way. thanks for the info.

Bookmark   March 9, 2004 at 7:55PM
raul_in_mexico

You can give them not a pinching, a haircut would be more appropiate, you can cut them down to a third of their size, at least that´s what I do every year, cuttings root very easily.

Bookmark   March 10, 2004 at 1:14PM
joy4me(z6 NY)

Pinching also strenghtens the roots so the plants energy goes into growing and branching rather than flowers. So, when they have enough branches and are a nice size, you can stop pinching and they will flower.

Afer the flower fades, pinch off the faded flowers to