Bugs pests and turtles

half_eaten_thumb(usda10)May 2, 2006

Need a little help again, I have a variety of fruits and veggies that are beginning to be eaten alive and I can not seem to stop it. Reason is that this past summer we adopted 3 endangered california Tortoises and while they are having a great time in the yard eating random items as they see fit, I am not able to guard against other pests (ie rollie-pollies) white flies and slugs because I can not use a topical pesticide with them around. I have had some success with chili-pepper seeds in hot water then into a spray-bottle (works great on aphids) but the rollie-pollie's and slugs don't seem to mind it. Help!!! I would like to enjoy even one strawberry this year.

Thank you for reporting this comment. Undo
username_5(banned for no reason)

So your problem is control of pill bugs (rollie pollie) and slugs in a way that is non toxic to tortoises?

First off understand I have no knowledge of what is or isn't toxic to the turtles.

Sluggo is made from iron phosphate (the toxin) and a wheat de-
rivative which serves as bait. Again, I don't know the first thing about what is or isn't toxic to turtles, but I suggest you look into iron phosphate and turtle to determine if it is safe as sluggo is about as safe as it gets when it comes to effective slug killers. Sure, you can use beer in a can, but this doesn't do much against a well populated slug infestation.

Pill bugs are another story. They are attracted to moisture and decaying material which is common to any mulched or organic enriched garden area. Diatomaceous earth won't harm the turtles, but will kill the pill bugs. It will also kill the slugs. Use food grade, not pool grade. You may have to search around or buy online. Google for 'food grade diatomaceous earth' to find online suppliers.

Bookmark   May 2, 2006 at 2:36AM
rhizo_1 (North AL) zone 7

Any good garden center should carry horticultural (=food grade) DE.

Bookmark   May 2, 2006 at 11:52AM