Some kind of ugly beetle???

ohiovalleygardener(5/6)August 29, 2010

I have tons of beetles on my pumpkins. Not squash beetles. They started out with black and red on them, they turned to a grey color and now there are both grey ones and black ones everywhere on my pumpkins. They about the size of my thumb nail. I can't tell that they are hurting the pumpkins since the pumpkins are all orange and I cut them from the vines. There are just lots and lots of them. I am a newbie, just the first garden. What are they and how do I get them to go away. I sprayed them with a hot pepper mixture that I used on my houseplants while they are outside. The bugs left until the stuff dried and came right back. Any help would sure be appreciated. Vicci

Thank you for reporting this comment. Undo
rhizo_1 (North AL) zone 7

I, for one, would like a picture of black and red critters, and the gray ones. Are you absolutely certain that they are beetles and not of a similar insect order?

Bookmark   August 29, 2010 at 2:46PM
ohiovalleygardener(5/6)

They were black and red earlier in the season and now some are grey and some are black. Maybe the black and red ones weren't the same thing as the grey or black. The had the same body shape and sure did like hanging out on the pumpkins. I'll run out and try to grab some pics. Thanks,Vicci

Bookmark   August 29, 2010 at 5:33PM
Kimmsr(4a/5b-MI)

What, if any, damage are they doing to the plants. Are they pests or are they beneficial insects that need to be coddled?

Bookmark   August 30, 2010 at 7:41AM
ohiovalleygardener(5/6)