Recommend a hydrangea?

anele_gwJuly 28, 2010

I am a complete novice gardener but quickly fell in love, love, love with hydrangeas. (Even my 3 y.o. will point them out on walks.)

I am looking for one or two for a small bed. I would prefer one that is about 4-5 feet as a foundation shrub. The area gets sun from the east. My ideal would be something with some winter interest. . .but if I had to pick winter interest vs. repeat blooms, I'd go with the repeat blooms.

Right now I have a Blushing Bride and ES in the spot and I love them. First year in the ground (2 gallon when I bought them this yr) and they are rewarding me with huge blooms. However, in this area, it seems that they just don't get tall enough.

I'm thinking of Limelight, but am open to suggestions! I know LL gets big, but I read here that the growth charts are for 10 years' worth . . .I don't even know if I'll live in this house that long!

Thanks so much!

Thank you for reporting this comment. Undo
anele_gw

Me again! I am also thinking about Snow Queen. Thoughts?

Bookmark   July 28, 2010 at 10:09PM
wild_belief(7b)

Hello anele- it's great to have another new convert! As far as winter interest goes, unfortunately hydrangeas don't have much to offer, as almost all of them go dormant during the cold months. I would typically recommend Hyd. arborescens (like 'Annabelle') or Hyd. paniculata (like 'Limelight') to my customers in zone 5; or rebloomers like your ES and Blushing Bride. Snow Queen could be a bit of a challenge in zone 5, though it could certainly be done with some winter coverage for the first couple of years, but I think it would want near full sun.