Best Time To Divide?

pacnwgrdngirl(z8 WA)May 22, 2007

All of my Iris are blooming still. I have three big beds. I want to dig up a whole bed of Old-Fashioned purple,white, and yellow Iris. The bed they are in is a little too squishy. I need to put them in a better spot. Also, my sister-in-law has a bed of root-beer-chocolate Tall Beardeds - just about done now. They are becoming crowded and need to be divided. We are going to trade. I volunteered to help her. Hers are incredible. Stunning color, and super ruffled. Just can't wait to get m hands on some of those! When is the best time to divide? July? Also, if you plant the fans right away before they dry out will they bloom the next year? Or will they bloom in two? (That's what I've experienced before.) I'm fairly new to Iris. I am liking them a lot. Check out my album with some picture of Iris I have. Most of them were givien to me, so I don't know their names. Thanks for all your help! :o)

Here is a link that might be useful: My Album

Thank you for reporting this comment. Undo
gmason

If yours are getting crowded probably as soon as they are through blooming. It's nice to let the fans grow till after the fourth of July if they aren't too crowded.

Bookmark   May 22, 2007 at 10:52PM
flowergirl70ks

It is best to dig tall bearded iris 6 weeks after they finish blooming. That gives them time to make food for next year. Here in Ks, I usually wait until the last of July. If it's extremely hot when you replant, face the broad side of the fan north and south. That leaves less of the fan to fight the sun.

Bookmark   May 24, 2007 at 9:21PM
pacnwgrdngirl(z8 WA)

That sounds like the trick to me! Wait the six weeks after blooming so the rhizome can replenish to make a bloom for next year. The light bulb above my head is lit! Now maybe they will bloom the following year after dividing, than waiting 2 seasons. Thank you flowergirl70KS!

Bookmark   May 24, 2007 at 11:08PM
grumpygardenguy(7 northern AL)