led grow lights vs regular leds

luchezarsJanuary 27, 2013

Hi,

I am new to growing plants indoors or growing plants anywhere for that matter. I have a question about led grow lights. My understanding is that they combine the red light spectrum which plants need for flowering and the blue light spectrum which plants need for vegetative growth. Is there anything else that is peculiar to grow lights and can't I just use a regular LED in the blue spectrum (5 W, around 6000 - 6500 K)and a regular incandescent (20 W) bulb to achieve the same results?

Thanks. I appreciate your help.

This post was edited by luchezars on Sun, Jan 27, 13 at 9:33

Thank you for reporting this comment. Undo
eircsmith

Good Luck for your growth. There are not any peculiar grow light, you can use a regular LED light in blue for vegging and red for flower to achieve same results.

Bookmark   January 28, 2013 at 4:47AM
dsws

Plants can use the whole spectrum, but they use red most efficiently and they need some blue to avoid getting leggy and so on. If LED grow lights live up to their labeling, they theoretically should give the lowest possible electric bill while still providing adequate light to your plants. But that has to be weighed against the up-front cost.

That's in theory. I don't have the practical experience to say much.

A 20W incandescent doesn't use much electricity, but it also doesn't put out much light. A 13W CFL from the dollar store would give more, and it's so cheap it would probably pay for itself before it burns out, even off that dinky 7W savings. A 5W LED should give more light than the incandescent, at least. But even with LED efficiency, 5W isn't much.

Bookmark   January 28, 2013 at 4:16PM
luchezars

How do I know how much light a plants needs (not in terms of hours)? For example, what can I grow with a 240-lumen LED?

Bookmark   January 31, 2013 at 11:10AM
rex42