Need advice - grow light for wintering plants

tulleyJanuary 31, 2010

Hello all!

I had a friend send me a plumeria cutting, and a white ginger root. I planted them, but sadly I have NO good light in my home. I need some help for the winter months when they have to live inside.

Could any of you suggest a grow light I can buy? Nothing huge . . maybe just a little one that clips on the side of the pot? How many hours a day does it need to be on?

Thank you all SO MUCH for your expertise and help!

Thank you for reporting this comment. Undo
donaldb(5B Worcester, MA)

Greetings. You need but to Google GROW LIGHTS and you will find a wealth of information that will help you.

Bookmark   February 2, 2010 at 8:57AM
anna_in_quebec(z4 QC)

Maybe this can be more helpful, Tulley: read through this forum - I am new to all this as well, and have scoured this forum for useful tips. I am going to install ordinary shoplights to add some light during the winter months. I am also considering compact fluorescent bulbs (CFL's) that you can pop into a regular lamp fixture and use it as a spot for a single plant or two. There are many very technical threads here, but also many simple and straightforward ones - just take some time to read through - I am glad I did!
Anna

Here is a link that might be useful: Helpful ideas here re. lighting inside

Bookmark   February 2, 2010 at 12:34PM
anna_in_quebec(z4 QC)

Check this thread as well.

Here is a link that might be useful: Growing under lights

Bookmark   February 2, 2010 at 1:33PM
tulley

-- "Greetings. You need but to Google GROW LIGHTS and you will find a wealth of information that will help you."

To Google something, is of course my first step with anything. I however, found the information a bit overwhelming, and why I came here to ask the experts.