Car Sunshade To Reflect Light?

dougdecincesFebruary 25, 2011

I have a few dozen plants growing under lights right now. It's crowding up my single fluorescent light setup, and I'm looking for ways to reflect/maximize light. My first idea was one of those reflective accordion car shades you put in windshields. It's cheap, it'd be roughly the same size, and it's something I can use over and over.

Of course, I'm still new to this whole game, so I'm open to any suggestions for making my fluorescent light setup more effective.

Here's an example of what I'm talking about http://www.amazon.com/Auto-Expressions-111106-Max-Reflector-Standard/dp/B000CAINDE/ref=sr_1_8?s=automotive&ie=UTF8&qid=1298642586&sr=1-8

Thank you for reporting this comment. Undo
penfold2(4b, MN)

I think most people (including myself) use mylar. It comes in rolls that can be cut to any size, and is cheaper per square foot than car sunshades. I got mine from a local hydroponics shop, but you can buy it online from any number of places.

Bookmark   February 25, 2011 at 3:53PM
halfway(5a)

I watch for the emergency thermal blankets to go on clearance. They are strong mylar and very cheap.

Way cheaper than buying mylar at the hydro store. I think I may have enough to cover a warehouse, LOL.

Here is a link that might be useful: My Hydroponic Adventure

Bookmark   February 25, 2011 at 3:56PM
taz6122(N.W. AR.6b)

That most likely is mylar covered cardboard. Mylar can be found fairly cheap at hobby and party stores. It's the same stuff fancy balloons are made from.

Bookmark   February 25, 2011 at 4:28PM
ontheteam(5a-6 (S.Eastern, MA))

I DO use auto shades.... but I got them in the fall on clearance for like a dollar each..

Bookmark   February 27, 2011 at 3:52PM
Johnnybai

I use car sunshade to reflect light to making my fluorescent light setup more effective.
but my car sunshade material is silver nylon instead of the bubble car sunshade.
i think the link you show is bubble sunshade,