Pale Peas

geodesicJune 12, 2013

Hi there,

I am new to gardening and planted my first vegetables this year in a raised bed. Lots of things seem to be growing very well, but the two varieties of pea I planted (Pisum sativum var sativum and "green arrow") seem to have the same problem - despite growing they both have very pale leaves and stalks.

I also have a serious problem with mushrooms - they are taking over the bed. Everything I've read seems to suggest that they shouldn't bother the plants, but i'm not sure it can be true in this case - after they pop up they turn into a black goo which coats the lower leaves and stalks of the plants. This has killed some seedlings, and I'm sure it can't be good for the larger ones.

Any ideas about how to deal with either of these problems?

Thank you for reporting this comment. Undo
dlsm(Z9b Titusville Fl)

geodesic, I would get rid of the mushrooms and the pale plants is a indication of a lack of fertilizer, mainly nitrogen. Do you have some type of carbon material in your raised bed that is depleting the nitrogen?

Luther

Bookmark   June 13, 2013 at 8:37PM
susanzone5(z5NY)

New to gardening...have you studied up on what to do to make the soil fertile and loose? Have you worked some bags of additives like aged manure and compost into your soil before planting? That can make a big difference in plant growth. Mushrooms and mold show a really wet soil, OR the soil you used in your beds was from a mushroom farm which will sprout mushrooms. I hope you solve the mystery.

Bookmark   June 18, 2013 at 7:45PM
seysonn(8a WA/HZ 1)

I think some peas have light pale green color naturally. But if they are somewhat yellow then they need more Nitrogen. A 10-10-10 granular can help them to have better foliage, better root system and eventually produce more peas. If it were leafy green I would feed then just some N-0-0.

Bookmark   June 19, 2013 at 3:32AM
More Discussions
Margaret Best Greasy Cut Short