Will any lamp work with the correct bulb?

polars127July 29, 2010

I'm extremely new with all of this so please bear with me. I just moved from an apartment with one window (just one, seriously) to a house with windows all over. I was very excited thinking of all the houseplants I'd be able to put everywhere. That is until I realized between the house next door, the porch awning, the overhangs, etc, very little light actually makes its way inside. So I have a lot of windows but not a lot of sunlight. In general and especially come winter time I feel like I'll need supplemental light. If I use a fluorescent grow bulb can I put it in any ol' lamp assuming the wattage is ok or do I have to have a particular kind of lamp? I'm sure this is a stupid question to many of you, but can I just an adjustable desk lamp with a bulb?? I really don't want a full on stand and I feel like that would kind of ruin the look of everything (though so would a bunch of dead plants...).

Thank you for reporting this comment. Undo
wordwiz

Basically, all you need is a light that provides enough light intensity, in the spectrum plants use, to grow the plants you want. It's as simple as advanced calculus!

Depending how many and what type of plants, you may need anything from a 23 watt CFL to a 400+ watt HID light.

I prefer, if I am using a single outlet and not trying to grow more than a plant or two, a CFL light with a 5000K temp rating. It provides the entire spectrum plants need from germination to the end of their useful life.

Tell us what you want to raise and we can give you better guidelines.

Mike

Bookmark   July 29, 2010 at 11:05PM
Thank you for reporting this comment. Undo
polars127