Is this normal? Black Bean Plants turning yellow

kingdvd74July 19, 2013

Hello everyone! Longtime reader, first time poster. I live in Indianapolis and planted black, navy, pinto and kidney beans in my Garden Tower Project container with about 10 plants each around the sides and on May 20th. They are growing great, especially the black and navy with long healthy looking pods. The others are vining and just started growing pods about 3 weeks ago or so. I'm growing them to dry. The last few days it has been in the low to mid 90's with the deck temp reaching 100 or over but the area gets sun from 11am to 2pm and 4pm to 7pm so it gets a break. The yellowing of the leaves and pods started slightly along the bottom rows first but not so bad until I noticed this morning the pods too are yellowing on all of my black and navy plants. I've been taking pictures pretty much daily of the whole container and some close ups. Not sure how to post multiples so I'll start with today's. I'm new at growing beans so I don't know if this is happening because they are reaching their end or if it is a disease. My other beans are still nice and green but I noticed something strange on one of the leaves. I'll post a pic of it too. Thanks for your help and look forward to your insightful responses. If there is another thread that addresses this please post a link. Thanks.

Thank you for reporting this comment. Undo
kingdvd74

This was taken 7/13/13

Bookmark   July 19, 2013 at 12:01PM
kingdvd74

Pinto bean problem?

Bookmark   July 19, 2013 at 12:07PM
kingdvd74

front of tower 7/19/13

Bookmark   July 19, 2013 at 12:13PM
kingdvd74

back side of tower 7/19/13

Bookmark   July 19, 2013 at 12:17PM
kingdvd74

tower 5/20/13

Bookmark   July 19, 2013 at 12:34PM
farmerdill

It is normal for dry type beans, Black, Pinto, Navy etc to turn yellow and defoliate as the pods dry. Makes harvest easier.

Bookmark   July 19, 2013 at 1:17PM
kingdvd74