picking and shelling pink-eyes

chuck60July 29, 2009

This is my first time growing Southern peas. The pods on my pink-eyes are getting purple and have seeds about as big as the black-eyed peas I'm familiar with as dried peas. I shelled one yesterday and it was a bit difficult getting the peas out without breaking them up. Should I let them mature a bit more and maybe they'll get easier to shell, or are they about right now? The pod seemed pretty tough, but the peas were nice raw....kinda like a raw peanut in flavor. I have two 50-60 foot rows, so I hope to get enough to freeze some. I'm planning to cook them about like I have done frozen black-eyes, with what Granny called streaked meat and some chopped onion, salt and pepper, with maybe a couple of dried cayenne peppers for good luck.

Chuck

Thank you for reporting this comment. Undo
farmerdilla

Typically when pink eye shells are full purple, it is time to use them for shellies. The shells at that point should be thin and leathery. If the pod is still fleshy they will be more difficult to shell.

Bookmark   July 29, 2009 at 2:49PM
chuck60

Thanks Farmer. Mine are just getting to the full pruple stage so I guess I should let them go a bit longer. I just picked another one a few minutes ago and the pod is still pretty tough.

Chuck

Bookmark   July 29, 2009 at 7:25PM
jimster(z7a MA)

Farmerdilla is right, as usual. Maturity of Pink Eye Purple Hulls shows clearly in the pod color. They are ready when the pod is totally deep, dark purple.

Enjoy.

Jim

Bookmark   July 30, 2009 at 1:20PM
chuck60

I picked and shelled the first batch this past weekend. I only got a bit less than a quart of shelled peas, but there's another round ready to pick. How long do these usually produce? The plants look fine and healthy, not like my bush green beans which often start looking puny after the first picking.