Do I need to fertilize my Blue Lake Pole Beans?

dirt2dirtJuly 14, 2008

Hi..

This is my first year growing pole beans here in WA. I have about 7 plants that are 6 feet high and there's only one flower. Some of the leaves on the bottom near the ground are turning yellow. Is this normal? Are they late? My snap peas are producing just fine and I planted them at the same time (across the yard from each other.) The beans are in the sun for about 7 hours. Other than that, the vine and all the leaves (except the yellow ones) look good. What should I be feeding them?

Thank you for reporting this comment. Undo
jimster(z7a MA)

Beans need little if any feeding. Feeding will not make them bloom. Depending on the variety, pole beans can take a long time to flower. But when they do, pods follow very quickly. I would not be discouraged yet. If the vines are healthy, you can expect a good crop.

Jim

Bookmark   July 15, 2008 at 11:43PM
dirt2dirt

Thanks jimster! I'll keep my eye on them and see what happens.

Bookmark   July 16, 2008 at 10:24PM
jwr6404(8B Wa)

I have several hundred pods on my Insuk's Wang Kong Runner beans. I fertilize monthly using Miracle Gro Tomato & vegetable fertilizer at 20% of the recommended strength, kind of like an appetizer.

Bookmark   July 19, 2008 at 11:12AM
tcstoehr

Once a month I work in a side dressing of an organic fertilizer mix of cottonsead meal, limes, and bone meal. I don't know if I need to do it or not, but the yield of beans has been tremendous.

Bookmark   July 21, 2008 at 12:44PM
jimster(z7a MA)

Rereading my post above, I see that I said, "Feeding will not make them bloom." To be more accurate, I should have said that feeding will not make them bloom before they are ready to bloom. Whether feeding produces more bloom once they start blooming, and consequently more pod production, is something I don't know. I'm willing to give it a try.

Jim

Bookmark   July 21, 2008 at 1:45PM
naturaljo