Lucky Bamboo leaves yellowing

AlecWingerMarch 25, 2013

So I am new to planting, and I purchased a Lucky Bamboo four days ago. Since then many of the leaves have turned yellow and droopy. The plant is currently in soil and I water it with distilled water every few days. It is in a place where it gets maybe an hour or two of direct sunlight but gets indirect sunlight for the majority of the day. Also, should I submerge the bottom of the pot in water? Because I have been told that Lucky Bamboos like that.
Any help would be much appreciated.
Thanks.

Thank you for reporting this comment. Undo
sugi_c(9a)

Too much water. If you have had it four days, you should have watered at most once, if that, if it's in soil. Good re: distilled water, though! :-)

I'd also suggest to get it out of any direct sunlight. I keep mine about 25 feet from the south facing window in med to low light.

If it's in the original pot, carefully lift it out and see how wet it is. I'd suspect it's sopping wet.

And no on the submerging in water! I don't know if that is common practice with this plant grown in water but I maybe take a kitchen shower hose to mine for a quick "shower" lest there be any dust, etc. once every 3 months (?) if that while watering. Otherwise, I try not to even water the leaves when I water.

Bookmark   April 5, 2013 at 2:14PM
janacgrose34