number of bean plants

purnima(z9CA)September 21, 2010

Hi,

I have been planting around 6 plants for the last 2 years but have not been able to "stock up the freezer" as someone put it. I get a good crop to feed a family of 4 for 2-3 months. Do I need to plant many more plants? I live in CA in the SF Bay area.

Purnima

Thank you for reporting this comment. Undo
rxkeith(z5 MI)

well, you certainly need more than 6 plants to stock up the freezer for a family of four. how many depends on the variety of bean, the appetite of your family, and the vagaries of the weather from year to year. what kind of bean do you grow, and how much space do you have to grow them? if you want to freeze a bunch to eat over the winter, you may need to triple or quadruple what you are growing.can you fill us in a bit?

keith

Bookmark   September 23, 2010 at 2:25PM
purnima(z9CA)

I have been growing Kentucky wonder pole beans. I have a 3X 12 raised bed and grow tomatoes and cucumbers. There is space enough to double but I was just curious. I am planning to build another raised bed and so was thinking about it.
Thanks.

Bookmark   September 23, 2010 at 4:41PM
forpityssake

I plant 50 seeds. The season can get shortened real quick...and, if it doesn't...I've got enough for the year and plenty to give away.

Bookmark   October 5, 2010 at 11:21PM
wertach zone 7-B SC

I plant about 1/2 pound. 2 oz for me, 6oz for the deer.....

Bookmark   October 25, 2010 at 10:42AM
cabrita(9b SoCal)