Prices: tomato plants & annuals

Sgarden(z5 MI)May 5, 2005

This is my first year selling. How much do folks generally charge for tomato plants and annuals? I'd appreciate some feedback greatly!

thanks,

Sarah in Michigan

Thank you for reporting this comment. Undo
bkyleh(7/AR)

I pay $9/flat(36 plants) for tomato plants

Bookmark   May 5, 2005 at 8:28PM
robin_maine

$3/6 pack

Bookmark   May 6, 2005 at 5:56AM
Sue_in_Colorado(about 5)

Tomatoes, peppers, eggplants, strawberries & squashes in 2 1/2" pots: $1.25 each, mix & match 5 for $5.00.

Bookmark   May 6, 2005 at 9:27AM
stan_gardener(cen ca)

i use 16 oz plastic cups,$2.00 ea 3/$5.00.

Bookmark   May 6, 2005 at 12:41PM
kevinw1

I charge for 3 1/2 - 4" pots CN$2 (US$1.60) each, for gallon pots CN$5 (US$4) each (but they are not going very well at all at the moment). I also do cherry tomatoes in a 10" hanging basket for CN$8 (US$6.40).

Kevin
Powell River, BC, Canada

Bookmark   May 7, 2005 at 9:55PM
sunflowerstand(z6a MI)

Hello,
I live in Michigan, too. Last year was my first year selling plants. I researched quite a bit and found that $2.50 per tomato plant was a common price for market gardeners. We did very well charging that price with a discount for a flat of 12. We are selling heirlooms and growing organically. The tomatoes are grown in four inch pots and the vegetables and flowers are in flats of 18 (3 inch, I think)and charge $1.50 each. We are in an area with about fifty large greenhouse centers within 5-10 miles who sell their stuff much cheaper but don't do what we do. I don't know if you do organic or heirlooms, but when I was researching, I saw a lot of market people selling conventionally grown hybrid varieties for that price, too, who also said they did well. The personal touch and the customer liking and trusting the grower seemed to be the key. There also seems to be a magic number kinda of thing about pricing, I grew up working in a family retail business