Favorite best scented shrubs for zone 5 or colder

jamlover(z4 Iowa)January 11, 2005

I am just getting into shrubs. Have lots of perennials and would like to add shrubs to the beds. Am interested in knowing your best fragrant shrubs for zone 5 or colder.

Thank you for reporting this comment. Undo
stinkypink(6)

It's hard for most Midwesterners not to think of lilacs, and they're among my favorites too, but for that first hit of spring perfume, I really like my viburnum. I used to have a star magnolia I really liked the scent of too, and while mock oranges smell divine later in the season, I've never found them to be the world's most dependable bloomers. People keep saying that witchhazel smells nice, but I'm never all that interested in tromping through the snow to sniff them up.

Bookmark   January 11, 2005 at 3:05PM
pitimpinai(z6 Chicago)

I like my:

- Buddleia fallowiana 'Lochinch' (considered the most fragrant butterfly bush by many posters in another forum).

-Syringa meyerii 'Pallibin' (small leaved Lilac, no problem with powdery mildew).

-Viburnum juddii is considered the most fragrant. Mine is still too small. Has not bloomed yet.

-Forthegilla gardenii 'Mt. Airy' (sp?) has slight fragrance, but beautiful fall foliage.

I also planted other non fragrant shrubs that give long fall/winter interest like Redtwig dogwood, Red/orange/yellow twig dogwood, Viburnum with red berries, snowberry, Beautyberry, forsythia, Pussy willow, Curly willow, Coral Embers willow.

If I had room, I would plant more varieties of Viburnum with berries, winterberries & witch hazel as well as winter honeysuckle (Lonicera fragrantissima)..... but those are only on my wish list as I no longer have room in my garden. :-(

Happy gardening.

Bookmark   January 11, 2005 at 3:15PM
jamlover(z4 Iowa)

Pitimpinai, What color is that buddleia? Hope it is also one of the more hardy ones!! And a lilac without mildew!! Bring it on. Color?