Jasmine in NJ?

doofusMarch 30, 2009

Hello!

I'd love to plant and grow fragrant jasmine around the property, but somebody told me, NJ weather is too harsh for the multi-year jasmine varieties...

Is that really true, or is there a frost-resistant strand I can buy, that would smell good for most of the summer and survive the winter?

Thanks a lot!

Thank you for reporting this comment. Undo
smord

There is somethign called "winter jasmine" (Jasminum nudiflorum) that is hardy to zone 6, although I have no experience with it. Try Brushwood Nursery http://www.gardenvines.com/shop/

I have no experience buying from them, but they answered my questions pretty quickly, they have good reviews on Daves Garden, and they are based in Pennsylvania so they probably have a pretty good idea of what would survive a NJ winter.

-Sarah zone 6 (Morris County)

Bookmark   April 8, 2009 at 12:00PM
inguvap(z6 NJ)

Jasmin Officianale (I hope that the spelling is right). I have this plant and it grows vigorously and I can give you a plant if you are interested. I have had this for 4 years now and It's scent is heavenly.
Padma.

Bookmark   April 13, 2009 at 4:27PM
tinylady(07 NJ)

Do you know about growing heather in NJ. I saw it at a nursery and was wondering about it.

Bookmark   April 16, 2009 at 9:19AM
steve_nj(7-a)

The yellow foliaged Jasminum officinale 'Fiona Sunrise'(also called 'Frojas') does well for me outdoors. I'll have a rooted plant or 2 at the swap on May 3rd, as well as 2 varieties of Jasminum nudiflorum with variegated foliage which I've propagated.

Bookmark   April 19, 2009 at 7:24AM
tinylady(07 NJ)

Does anyone know about planting heather? Or the other name is Heath? The man at the nursurey said it was what they grow in Nj, but I can't find anyone else growing it.

Bookmark   April 21, 2009 at 7:44AM
shanthipavan

hi can anyone give me jasmine, rose ,hibiscus or rose plants

Bookmark   June 16, 2009 at 2:13AM
steve_nj(7-a)