Orange and blue plants for afternoon sun garden?

jlc102482(6)April 15, 2010

Hi, everyone! I'm new to gardening and new to the forum, so I thought I'd start here. I'm in zone 6 and would like to establish a garden in the front yard of my home. Ideally, I'd really love to do an orange and blue color scheme. However, the area I plan to put the garden in gets only afternoon sun, from about 2:00 PM until the sun sets. Right now, the only stuff growing there are 5x7 foot evergreen hedges (yew, I believe) and some grubby, yellow grass. The hedges are coming out ASAP, so there won't be any competition or shade from them.

I'm not sure which plants to look for that will do well in afternoon sun-only conditions, especially orange and blue ones. Can anyone point me in the right direction?

Thank you for reporting this comment. Undo
marricgardens

I grow both Clustered Bellflower and Jacobs Ladder in afternoon sun, both do very well for me. The JL is a nice 'true blue' and I also like the foliage. Since it only flowers early to mid June here, the nice foliage helps. The Clustered Bellflower is a deeper blue here in my clay soil. In my other garden, in good loam, (before we moved) it was sky blue. I really don't have too many orange flowers except for wallflower. It is beside the JL and it seems to like it there. I also have some poppies that are orangs/scarlet in colour and they do well in afternoon sun.

Bookmark   April 16, 2010 at 10:25AM
xaroline(zone 3 Calgary)

If you want quick colour with annuals, California poppies and California Bluebells
would work there.
Caroline

Bookmark   April 16, 2010 at 12:21PM
maj742(5)

I have some orange Trollius growing on my west side that only get afternoon sun. They are very pretty and have an interesting flower. They bloom quite a long time.