Overplanting spring bulbs

LolaNHJune 9, 2011

Hello,

This is my first post to this site, but I have been reading and enjoying for awhile now. I am a beginner gardener and becoming more and more obsessed :-) My question is about what suggestions people have for plants that can be planted over or among my spring bulbs to dress up the appearance of the dying foliage. The bed is full sun, well draining. It has bulbs of pink tulips and purple irises which are beautiful but look too spaced out and now have no flowers. I also don't have a lot of money to spend. Ideally, I was looking for a plant blooming around this time of year with yellow flowers, nicely spreading, maybe 8-16" tall. I am looking forward to hearing your suggestions and thanks for reading this.

Thank you for reporting this comment. Undo
canadian_daisy

Welcome to the forum.

I have yellow bearded iris which is budding right now planted among some tulips. The only problem is iris clumps get really big so you have to divide them every 3-4 years. But they bloom right about the time tulips fade.
If you don't mind using pansies they come in all colours, so you shouldn't have a problem finding yellow ones. And they self-seed so you'll get volunteers.

Bookmark   June 10, 2011 at 11:02AM
LolaNH

Do you know if pansies bloom over a long period or short? Will they continue for most of the summer? Thank you so much for your input!

Bookmark   June 12, 2011 at 11:51AM
canadian_daisy

From my experience, pansies bloom until about August, then their life cycle as biennials winds down - their seeds will have self-sown everywhere and you'll have to wait til next Spring to see new vibrant plants.

Annuals in front of, or in among your spring bulbs can also hide their dying foliage. I plant nasturtiums every year in the front of one of my bulb beds. They bloom so profusely by the end of summer, they're quite spectacular.