Needed ID Tree/shrub w/berries

dfaustclancyJuly 29, 2014

Hi GW fans,

Here is a photo of a tree/shrub with dark berries that grows EVERYWHERE along our pond in Zone 5. Have no idea what it is. Can you guys ID it? The birds love it, but it is so prolific, I'd like to scale it back some...

Thanks for any/all help.

Deb

Thank you for reporting this comment. Undo
corunum z6 CT(6)

Hi Deb, could it be Arrowwood Viburnum? I'm no pro, others here can answer better, but you could check the Google link below to see if your leaves match.

Jane

Here is a link that might be useful: Google

Bookmark   July 29, 2014 at 2:55PM
dfaustclancy

Dear Corunum,

Thanks for your response, but no it is not Arrowwood Viburnum... That woulda been nice! I am posting yet another photo for a different view...

Bookmark   July 29, 2014 at 4:11PM
corunum z6 CT(6)

Right - not a viburnum leaf....hmmm..silky dogwood? We need a pro...

Bookmark   July 29, 2014 at 4:54PM
pixie_lou

Buckthorn?

Bookmark   July 29, 2014 at 5:53PM
dfaustclancy

Good chance it could be buckthorn? Just read how to control it. Any other ideas? Come on! Chime in. Taking this opportunity to post one more pic....

Bookmark   July 29, 2014 at 8:25PM
prairiemoon2 z6 MA

Debra, try the Name That Plant forum, they're usually pretty good at IDs. Sorry, I don't even have a guess.

Bookmark   July 30, 2014 at 2:53PM
NHBabs(4b-5aNH)

Can you take one clear photo of a leaf, perhaps picking and setting it on a solid surface? I am fairly certain that it is glossy buckthorn (Frangula alnus - used to be Rhamnus frangula) an invasive small tree. We have lots of it. Easy to pull when small, but when it gets too large to pull, I wipe glysophate, generic Roundup, on the leaves. It usually takes two applications (second one when it resprouts stundted leaves) to kill it.

Bookmark   July 30, 2014 at 8:37PM
dfaustclancy

Last photo before I put on name that plant: Thanks for all of the suggestions!

Bookmark   August 6, 2014 at 9:26AM