Could Use A Lot Of Help!!!

bettafish(6a -Ontario, Ca)June 27, 2005

I am fairly new to gardening, and I have just picked up a BEAUTIFUL PASSIFLORA "Lady Margaret"!

I have had the hardest time finding any information for Passiflora Lady Margaret. It seems to be struggling, only two blooms, and a few have died and fell off.. Where there is new growth the vine seems to be a pale sort of yellow (is this new growth?). None of the yellowing is browning and falling off, it is remaining yellow?

I am unsure of how to prune it as well? I havnt been lucky enough to find any information on the web, and the tag with it doesn't tell me how to prune it if need be. Should I pinch the dead blooms to encourage new growth? or let them wither and fall?

Also, is Lady Margaret a "pet name" for the plant? or is that its actual name?

I would appreciate any and all help

Thank you for reporting this comment. Undo
shiollie(z5 MI)

Try this, and when you search try using "Lady Margaret" Passiflora just like it is written, I found lots on it. Good luck, it sound beautiful!

Here is a link that might be useful: Lady Margaret

Bookmark   June 27, 2005 at 3:46PM
Krstofer(Zone 7 (ish))

Don't trim or prune it- just get something like a small tomato cage (it's what I do) and as the vine(s) grow, simply wrap it around the cage. Then it stays compact & doesn't crawl everywhere.

You don't need to worry about pinching the flowers off either- if not polinated they'll fall off by themselves, and pinching them won't cause the plant to grow any more anyway.