Caterpillars - Yikes!

granburyflowergirl(7)August 22, 2010

This is my first year with passionflowers and until last week I was fine with the idea that I would be sharing the leaves with caterpillars. Almost overnight the darn things wiped out every single leaf on my 10' vine! Will they kill the plant completely if I don't do anything? I hate to harm future butterflies but I don't want my vine to die - Help! What should I do?

Thanks

Thank you for reporting this comment. Undo
karyn1(7a)

The cats normally won't harm an established vine even if they defoliate it but a new vine........??? How come everyone but me gets Gulf Fritts? I have loads of passies and many that they prefer as a host plant : (

Bookmark   August 22, 2010 at 6:01PM
mark4321_gw

I think spraying the vine with Bt (Bacillus thuringiensis, a bacterium) will kill the caterpillars. It should be available in nurseries, although you may want to call first--not all carry it.

However it sounds like you don't want to kill them. So you could always pick them off by hand and send them to Karyn...

Bookmark   August 22, 2010 at 6:22PM
karyn1(7a)

I'd be thrilled but doubt they'd survive the trip. You might want to post on the butterfly forum and see if anyone has extra passion vines or maybe there's someone that lives near you that wants them.

Bookmark   August 22, 2010 at 8:14PM
mark4321_gw

Karyn,

Perhaps they would travel best as eggs? I don't have enough of a population, or I'd offer some.

Bookmark   August 22, 2010 at 9:10PM
egnilk66(9 - Southern California)

Feed 'em to your chickens!

Bookmark   August 23, 2010 at 12:12PM
granburyflowergirl(7)

Well, I don't know why my message never went through but I was going to offer to send you all of the little buggers Karyn, but I too doubt they'd survive the trip ;-). If I could figure out how to identify the eggs, I'd be happy to try sending them...there isn't much left to lay eggs on though!