Sea monster in my indoor sunflower seedling!!!

lzsed(6a)April 3, 2014

I have no idea what this is or how to take care of it. Any takers?? I am new at gardening, but surely this cannot be the roots.

Pictures (in dirt):

Thank you for reporting this comment. Undo
jean001a(Portland OR 7b)

Small mushrooms?
If so, remove & discard.

Bookmark   April 3, 2014 at 7:55PM
lzsed(6a)

Ohh god if they are mushrooms that would be such a relief!!! Are not they the strangest things you have ever seen? They remind me of some type of miniature coral reef. I have a great macro camera if anyone wants a better shot of them. I really want to know how to fix whatever this is!!!

Bookmark   April 3, 2014 at 8:51PM
jean001a(Portland OR 7b)

Then please use the macro and post more images which will help us see details.

Oh yes -- what are the things doing? Moving? Just sitting there? or what?

Bookmark   April 4, 2014 at 12:23AM
eibren(z6PA)

Could possibly also be pupae or egg capsules of some kind, maybe even of some sort of spider, but difficult to know if friend or foe until it grows or hatches. Insect and mushroom people might be more helpful.

You could place a bit of the soil into the bottom of a glass jar and place them in there to see what they develop into if you are curious. Put a couple of tiny air holes in the cap, and add a tiny bit of moisture occasionally. If you should get tiny spiders, let them escape into your garden once it is warm enough outside.

I don't touch things like that with bare hands until I know what they are....

;o)

Bookmark   April 4, 2014 at 12:46AM
ken_adrian Adrian MI cold Z5

did you use a potting media ... of which it does not look like one???

or some homemade compost mix ...

if so ... that is why you have mushrooms in it.. they one of natures decomposers ... and they are finishing the job ...

you said: Are not they the strangest things you have ever seen?

==>>> no.. trust me.. there are a lot more weird and disgusting things.. lol ...