Fungus on my veggies?

brianSATX(8)September 6, 2012

Anyone recognize what's wrong with my green beans? Is the white streak a virus or fungus of some sort? Maybe a deficiency of something? I had something very similar with my spanish beans in the spring that got bad quick and seemed to lead to the leaves dying and falling off. Trying to head this issue off earlier.

Organic treatment ideas? I've read a bit about innoculating the bean seeds but don't know much about it or if it is a necessity.

Other information:

This are Provider green beans grown from seed. Soil mix is Mel's SFG mix - 1/3 sphangum peat moss, 1/3 vermiculite, and 1/3 mixed blend of compost. I know this isn't "truly" organic, but I'm new to this and learning very quickly :)

The plants are receiving about 7 hours of intense heat (avg 95 degree high past week).

Thank you for reporting this comment. Undo
brianSATX(8)

Adding the picture...

Bookmark   September 6, 2012 at 8:00PM
morz8(Washington Coast Z8b)

Not a disease, an insect - leafminer, generally not serious pests. Would you call the infestation light, or more serious, there may be nothing you need to do at all if your photo depicts the plants overall health, that looks like a light infestation to me.

Bookmark   September 6, 2012 at 8:50PM
brianSATX(8)

Not much damage. Of 9 bush plants, only 4-5 occurrences like that. I'll keep monitoring over the next few days.

Bookmark   September 6, 2012 at 9:08PM
brianSATX(8)

Do you suspect the same damage on this butternut squash, which is nearby? The only difference is that the damage is a bit more brown vs white.

Bookmark   September 6, 2012 at 9:10PM
morz8(Washington Coast Z8b)

Yes, same type pest, one of the leafminers.

Bookmark   September 6, 2012 at 9:53PM
Kimmsr(4a/5b-MI)