Too Many Peppers?

ehsteveJune 13, 2012

This is my first time growing peppers so I have no idea what to expect but I'm worried I have room any peppers on my plants.

I'm growing banana peppers in 7 gallon containers. The plants are about 18" tall and currently have around 30 peppers per plant and are still putting out more flowers. The peppers range from newly sprouted ones to peppers about 5" long, which are still green.

Is this normal? Can a plant support this many peppers? Will it delay ripening?

Any help or advice would be greatly appreciated.

Thank you for reporting this comment. Undo
tsheets(5)

Sounds like they are doing great! If the plant can't handle it, or isn't happy, they will most likely drop the buds. Otherwise, let them do their thing.

Bookmark   June 13, 2012 at 3:18PM
esox07

Yah, if it can't support any more it will drop new blooms. Sounds like you have things going great. Give them a little time.
Bruce

Bookmark   June 13, 2012 at 6:34PM
ehsteve

Picture of the Peppers.

I came home today though to find the plant tipping over after watering softened the ground, so have had to add stakes since :S

Bookmark   June 13, 2012 at 9:42PM
Edymnion(7a)

Yeah, peppers are generally pretty good about not setting more fruit than they can support (heh, nutritionally, weight wise as you've found can be a different story). My sweet bananas are similarly laden as yours, and when I look carefully I can find aborted peppers laying on the ground (the stems fell off like blossom drop, but there is clearly no flower and the bud of a pepper in its place).

So, the plant knows what its doing. If it oversets it will simply abort the extras and keep going with what its got.

Bookmark   June 14, 2012 at 8:55AM
Edymnion(7a)

On a side note, I put my peppers in those round wire cages various places sell as tomato cages.

Bookmark   June 14, 2012 at 8:56AM
DMForcier(8 DFW)

Can't have too many peppers. Send the extras to me.

No CODs, please.