Palm Reading

Michael AKA Leekle2ManE - Zone 9a - Lady LakeDecember 7, 2012

Sort of. I'm actually looking for an identification of this palm that I have seen at Sea World - Orlando several times but never remembered to get a picture of to get it identified. I finally remembered. The picture really doesn't do it justice as you don't really get a sense of scale here. But in person this thing is just huge when compared to most palms I encounter. It is easily 15-20 ft wide.

Thank you for reporting this comment. Undo
miketropic

I would say it was a bismark but that smooth lower trunk is throwing me off...still looks like a bismark to me but I am far from an expert

Bookmark   December 7, 2012 at 9:09PM
Michael AKA Leekle2ManE - Zone 9a - Lady Lake

Looking at pictures of other Bismarks, I think you are correct. I even see some that have been smooth trimmed like this one. I've seen people talk about Bismarks on this forum many, many times. I guess I just never got to see one this big. Or just didn't realize it. In the google images there's one that looks like it might make this one look a little on the small side.

Thanks for the help!

Bookmark   December 7, 2012 at 9:41PM
tropicbreezent

It is a Bismarckia nobilis. They normally have a smooth trunk, they're self cleaning. Only very small plants retain the leaf bases. After they start trunking the old leaf bases soon start to fall off. Can't find photos of the tallest I've seen, this is about a medium sized one.

Bookmark   December 7, 2012 at 10:40PM
miketropic

I have 5 seeds in the prop that have been there a bit over a month and nothing. I would love to have a bismarck but once it got that big im not sure what I could do with it seeing my climate and all

Bookmark   December 8, 2012 at 12:15AM
garyfla_gw(10 Florida)

hi