Bell peppers- are they also perennials?

noamsmom(Israel)July 10, 2007

I know they're not strictly *hot* peppers, but I thought I might get more answers here than on the veggie forum. We only rarely get frost here, and I understand hot peppers can be treated as /are perennials. Is it possible to overwinter bell peppers outside and have viable peppers next year as well?

Thanks!

Thank you for reporting this comment. Undo
fiedlermeister(04/05)

All peppers are perennials. I have not tried overwintering bells but I don't see why not.

john

Bookmark   July 10, 2007 at 11:18AM
jonv

well im in omaha and the winter gets pretty damn cold....im new to gardening, and maybe this is a bone head question. what is over winter?....or what do i have to do to the plants?

Bookmark   July 10, 2007 at 4:27PM
newcity

Bring them inside! :)

Bookmark   July 10, 2007 at 6:22PM
willardb3

Well, John F and I are waaaayyyyy north of Omaha and we both overwinter chiles inside with success.

Grow the chile in a pot during the summer and when cold weather comes, prune the plant back and bring it inside the house. Keep it warm and give it as much light as you can.

The chile will flower and fruit much earlier next summer.

Bookmark   July 10, 2007 at 8:10PM
jonv

LOL.......i thought you all meant i could leave the plants outside!!!.....hahaha i thought there is no way these suckers will make it through the winter no matter what i do to em

Bookmark   July 11, 2007 at 12:32AM
fiedlermeister(04/05)

The original poster lives in Israel and ,perhaps does not have to deal with frost.

Johnf

Bookmark   July 11, 2007 at 7:54AM
fromtobago

Hi all