Help with succulent cuttings

jaxdesignJuly 18, 2009

Hello everyone, this is a great forum and I am glad to be here.

I am a college student, and I have been gardening for the past 3 years. I have four raised beds filled with vegies, flowers, and native plants of California.

My question is about cuttings. I have tried taking cuttings of ceanothus, baccharis, honeysuckle, rose, and a few succulents. I have followed guides, which told me to remove unnecessary leaves, wound the nodes, and soak the cuttings in root hormone. I have done all of this, and yet all of my cuttings, besides the resilient honeysuckle, have wilted and failed to root.

Every week or so I mix root hormone and water to encourage the cuttings to root, but only one or two thin roots come out of the nodes. More often than not the stem begins to decompose and the cutting wilts.

Does anyone have any advice for me? I really want to learn how to propagate through cuttings. Thanks!

Thank you for reporting this comment. Undo
yiorges-z5il

YOU SHOULD USE A WELL DRAINED SOIL & MIST THE CUTTINGS OFTEN.
DILUTING HORMONE IN WATER & APPLYING TO CUTTINGS IS A WAST OF TIME & MONEY.
THE ROSE IS SO EASY TO ROOT I OFTEN JUST STICK CUTTINGS IN SOIL OUTSIDE WITHOUT HORMONE & MIST..... SO....I WILL ASSUME THERE IS SOMETHING ELSE GOING ON YOU ARE NOT TELLING US?

Bookmark   July 18, 2009 at 7:42PM
brandon7 TN_zone(7)

I will address succulents. Instructions can vary with different types, but the following can be used for most succulents.