My Michelia Alba is about to root !

sam89(Z10SF)September 2, 2012

I started airlayering Michelia alba in May this year. Today I opened the wrapping and checked for moisture level. I noticed that it has started to root. Here is the pictures:

Thank you for reporting this comment. Undo
sam89(Z10SF)

I'm new to photobuck and edited the pictures after I posted.
Here are the pictures:

Bookmark   September 2, 2012 at 7:45PM
calistoga_al

You better keep it covered and moist, it could remain at this stage for months. It looks like some callus has formed. Al

Bookmark   September 5, 2012 at 9:00AM
sam89(Z10SF)

Hi Al, I think the M. Alba is in early stage of rooting. It's look as those I saw when a fig cutting trying to root. Fig cutting is very easy to root. I know it can be months away before root well established. I'm very delighted.

Bookmark   September 5, 2012 at 3:58PM
Tiffany, purpleinopp GardenWeb, Z8b Opp, AL

Looks like you're having fun! I like it.

Bookmark   September 7, 2012 at 11:36AM
sam89(Z10SF)

Today weather is too warm for me. It has rained a little last few weeks. I checked my michelia alba experiment. What a surprise ! I get roots. I'm so happy about it as this is my first trial. From late May to early November is about 6 months. Should I let the plant gain more root or cut off here ? The top of the plant is still too yellowish to me.
I planned to cut the bottom 2 branches off when I move the new plant to a pot.
Here is the picture taken today.

Bookmark   November 4, 2012 at 6:01PM
calistoga_al