Want to reproduce mystery plant

ordomanSeptember 10, 2010

Hello!

I recently moved into a new house, and in the yard there is this 4m tall tree with gorgeous bright pink flowers that look like they're made from crepe paper:

I would like to grow another tree like it, but given that I am a complete beginner, I have absolutely no idea what species of plant this is or how it reproduces. Any pointers you could give me would be much appreciated.

Thank you for reporting this comment. Undo
yiorges-z5il

I suggest you take a tip cutting. Apply 0.1% IBA (Rooting hormone) stick in well drained soil & mist. most likly will take 25-60 days to root

Bookmark   September 12, 2010 at 8:19AM
garystpaul(4)

Ordoman, that is one beautiful HIBISCUS. As yiorges noted, you can propagate it via tip cuttings. I do this routinely for new plants in my attached greenhouse. Your plant should root quite readily. Make the cutting about 4" or so, strip all but a few leaves at the top and pinch out any nascent flower buds. Make a fresh diagonal cut and perhaps strip about 3/4" of the very outer layer of the cutting (this depends on how soft or how woody the cutting is; if soft, don't bother with this step). Dip in rootone or other hormone, if you have it, put the cutting in a porous mixture of potting soil plus vermiculite, perlite or coarse sand, firm the mix around the cutting, then use a mister, as suggested, or put it under a plastic or glass dome (or, as I do, in a translucent plastic storage box), out of direct sunlight. It will root more readily in warmer temps (70s, 80s). Good luck. Gary

Bookmark   September 12, 2010 at 9:16PM
greenendup