New to the Grand Valley

katied55791January 16, 2014

I am new to this region of the country. I want to build a new vegetable garden. I am told by the locals that most new gardens fail because the soil cannot/will not support it

OK...I am prepared to dig out the area first and re-fill with proper soil, etc.

But...just how deep do I have to go?

This whole area is what is called the high desert. It seems to be mostly rock and sand. I guess I don't have to worry about it being "well-drained"...but..any and all advice to this newbie will be very welcome.

thank you

Thank you for reporting this comment. Undo
gjshawk(6)

I, too, am a Grand Valley resident. I have found gardening success with raised beds and a growing medium called Mel's Mix. I discovered it last year when I found a book on Square Foot Gardening by Mel Bartholomew. I have tried regular in-the-ground gardening, where I had a prolific crop of weeds, straw bale gardening, which is water intensive but works, and now square foot gardening. I like the square foot method the best. The raised beds have their own soil mix so your ground soil doesn't matter.

If you are planting a huge garden then the square foot method might get pricey. Go to the square foot gardening forum on this site for more information. Welcome to the Grand Valley. Its a pretty great place to live, I think.
Grant

Bookmark   January 16, 2014 at 8:07PM
jaliranchr(z5 EC CO)

Welcome to Colorado and the RMG family, katied!

Bookmark   January 16, 2014 at 8:52PM
chellers

I am on the front range but also created raised beds and just tilled the ground underneath and then added soil from a garden center on top. Bought in bulk, so it was a little cheaper than plastic bags of soil from Lowes or somewhere.

Welcome to Colorado!

Michelle

Bookmark   January 17, 2014 at 7:00AM
digit(ID/WA)

I don't believe that grapes require a very fertile soil but your area of Colorado is known for vineyards.

There are also orchards.