The following message below was received after my post to "Rose" Group (RG) members, that the miniature rose ÂRenegadeÂ was DQ at our district show, using information in ARS publications listing it as a single. Prior to my posting confirmed this by checked MR 12 database, it also lists Renegade as a single. The hybridizer, a RG member immediately contacted ARS to change ÂRenegadeÂ classification, resolving the problem.
-----A report is being circulated among some exhibitors that the ARS made a mistake in listing the mini
Renegade as a single. The story has the usual slant asking why exhibitors have to pay the price for ARS mistakes. This report is incorrect. (PHIL S.
As "Rose" Group members know, the exact question was: "WhyÂs the rose exhibitor always the loser when ARS makes mistakes?"
Had Phil understood the significance of the word "mistake", I wouldnÂt be posting this today. A "mistake" as referred to in the dictionary, is: a wrong action or statement proceeding from faulty judgment, inadequate knowledge. How it happened is actually incidental, or point of the post, it happened and should be brought to judges and exhibitors attention ASAP.
Phil what is incorrect, that ÂRenegadeÂ was not listed as a single at the time it was exhibited? Or that the exhibitor didnÂt pay the price by being deprived of receiving Queen of the show? As a fiduciary of ARS National Chair of Registrations, be more concerned about how future errors of this type can be avoided, rather than twisting facts and finding fault with everyone.
Something I was not going to address at this time, but a similar incident happened with ÂRenegadeÂ at ARS 2009 National Miniature Rose Show on 7-19-2009; where ÂRenegadeÂ won KING of the show. Even though ARS guidelines mandate it be listed as such in ARS publications, yet all ARS publications listed it as a single. The question of the day should have been, what ARS publication was used by judges in verifying ÂRenegadeÂ as a double. The "Combined Rose List" has it listed correct, but because ÂRenegadeÂ was listed in an ARS publication, the CRL could not be used. Would you than agree, that because of ARS mistakes the rose exhibitor is the loser. The loser in this case, technically is the exhibitor who should have won KING.
Phil found it necessary to comment about my post on the Rosarian Corner website, knowing at the present time I could not respond to it. People living in glass houses should not throw stones.