Dr. John Dickman

hershigrl(Coastal CA 10)December 15, 2004

Anyone know how big this guy gets or how floriferous it is? I want to grow it as a garden rose. I hear it's an exhibition winner so I thought you guys might know about it. :)

Also, who sells the miniflora "Nemesis" shown in the Annual. Is that a yellow reverse? It's a beauty!

- HershiGrl

Thank you for reporting this comment. Undo
PMVG57(z9 AZ)

Just got two Dr. JD myself so I have no first hand growth knowledge, but in other AZ gardens I've seen mature plants in, it was reaching 3ft in height, with good bloom set.

'Nemesis' is a Robbie Tucker creation that I don't think will be coming out until late 2005 from Rosemania.....

Bookmark   December 15, 2004 at 3:22PM
phil_schorr(z6St.Louis)

I've heard some reports that it doesn't bloom all that much, but I haven't grown it myself so I can't say for sure.

Bookmark   December 15, 2004 at 5:20PM
suzanne_ladyred(z10 So Cal)

Dr. John Dickman gets pretty big as a plant, has excellent form on the blooms, but is a pretty stingy bloomer. I wouldn't recommend it for a garden rose.

Nemesis will be released by Rosemania, I believe, sometime in 2005. That's all I know about that one.

Bookmark   December 16, 2004 at 9:50AM
steve_gw

I've budded Dr. John Dickman to multiflora, and my plants looked like HT's by fall except the blooms were Mini-Flora
sized. I thought they bloomed pretty well, throwing some nice sprays also. I've had it in the court several times already, a really nice rose!

Bookmark   December 17, 2004 at 11:21PM
Paribear(10a)

This is an excellent miniflora but I agree with Suzanne a little stingy with blooms. But the blooms you do get are worth it. I posted a picture of this miniflora on the rose gallery.

Bookmark   April 8, 2005 at 3:57AM
cleanleaf(z10/ca)

I have one of these plants; Just got it this winter. Nice foilage, we shall see how the blooms come out.

Bookmark   April 14, 2005 at 10:49PM
blsmith

Hi HershiGirl :~),