Clearance Mini.. Needs Work?

alaskanamazon(6)February 25, 2006

My boyfriend bought me this little rose last night. It was on clearance for $1.

I've never grown a rose before (though I've been gardening for 10+ years) so I want to be sure I don't kill it.

Does it need pruned back? Repotted? It's in a 4" pot now and somewhat rootbound.

Thank you for reporting this comment. Undo
tjsangel(z5 OH)

Nice buy there.

What you need to do is plant it in your garden asap or it has little chance of survival. You can plant as long as the ground there isnt frozen. They make poor houseplants, needing very full sunlight, humidity, moist soil & they get spider mites very easily. Give it a shower once a week. You dont need to prune it til next year if you're planting outside. Even then just a light trimming is fine for minis. Make sure the middle is not crowded to prevent disease. You may need to spray with fungicide in cases of mildew, blackspot etc. Minis are quite hardy. Keep well watered. Good luck with your new plant!

Jen

Bookmark   February 25, 2006 at 7:50PM
diane_nj 6b/7a

Hi. The thread at the link below contains links to three other threads that discuss these minis. Jen's right, you need to get it outside ASAP, they are really not well suited for growing inside. Hope these help!

Here is a link that might be useful: Help! My indoor mini roses keep dying!

Bookmark   February 26, 2006 at 8:32PM
alaskanamazon(6)

Thanks for the advice but I live in an apartment and don't have a garden.
As far as humidity goes I grow almost nothing but high humidity plants (Drosera, Pinguicula, Nepenthes, etc) and have never had a problem with humidity levels. All my other plants are also strictly full sun plants and I live in a south facing apartment.
So theres no way it will survive long enough to go out on the balcony in spring?

Bookmark   February 27, 2006 at 1:54PM
mscratch(z6 S.E. Mo.)