Too soon to plant?

austin_addict(z5 SE WI)April 21, 2005

I'm new to minis and need some advice. I have the following roses in the tiny grower pots and am wondering how soon I can put them in the ground outside:

-- Tammy Darlene

-- Irrestible

-- Pam Tillis

-- Jeanne la Joie

-- Simplex

One of the Tammys isn't looking so hot so I definately need to repot her, but what about the rest? Can I wait a week or two and simply plop them in the earth or ????? I am in Milwaukee, zone 5.

Cynthia

Thank you for reporting this comment. Undo
desertratrose(z9 AZ-PHX)

Ok, so no one else has answered. I didn't want to because my zone is so different from yours.

Here, I always pot the babies up into gallon containers for a couple of months before putting in the ground. However, I have put 'grocery store' minis directly in the ground with no ill effect, so I would assume you can go straight into the ground when you're ready. Just make sure you keep them wet enough. Even one missed watering can spell disaster with the tiny pots as they are all most likely pretty root bound.

If you think the soil temps are still pretty cool, you will be better off in black gallon pots for a while. They will get warmer during the day than the ground will and this will help stimulate the root growth faster. I think this accounts for why my bare roots do better here when I 'can' them for a couple of months starting in January (our bare root season, if you can imagine) and then put them in the ground in March.

Suz

Bookmark   April 24, 2005 at 1:20PM
tenor_peggy(10 FL, N. Fort Myers)

Is the ground workable? I would think so. It is not too bad up here in Green Bay. Check out the Milwaukee Rose Society and see what they say. :-)

Here is a link that might be useful: Milwaukee Rose Society

Bookmark   April 26, 2005 at 2:14PM
Maureen Janda