Is this Tomato Spotted Wilt? Do we even have that in CO?

kristin5bco5300ft(5b)July 28, 2008

I've posted this to the tomato forum but thought you all might be more familiar with CO tomato diseases. This is my first year with tomatoes and I have 1 Early Girl in a large container that recently (last few days) developed some light brown spots, mostly circular (not raised), on the fruit. You can't see them too well in the image but they are not holes (as in, I assume that this is not a pest in the fruit). Interestingly, the marks are (so far) confined to the south side of each affected fruit.

Most of the leaves look healthy enough (to me) but I have taken a picture of one with white and brown spots on the top surface. The other tomatoes (1 Early Girl and 1 Sweet 100) nearby look fine.

Weather here in Boulder, CO has been hot and sunny (90+ for weeks).

Any help or pointers would be much appreciated! The closest thing I have found is Tomato Spotted Wilt but I am not at all sure that's what I have.

--Kristin

Thank you for reporting this comment. Undo
digit(ID/WA)

Someone once told me that if you suspect disease, first think bugs!

Insects are often the vectors of disease so they don't just share a bite of your garden produce. The damage may continue after the critter has gone on to other things.

I'm not in Colorado but the conversation around here often turns to flea beetles and the damage they do to our gardens. This is something of an unknown or, at least, of little concern in many parts of the country.

Take a look at the damage to this tomato and imagine that the scars aren't healing quite as nicely. Then look at this foliage and realize that the beetles don't always punch a hole completely thru the leaf. I think "craters" are the result about 90% of the time. You may have a better idea of the cause if you turn the leaf over and look at the underside.