Hello Hello! I'm Betty and it's my first time here.

b2alicia(zone 5 Westminster)July 8, 2010

I just found this place and I am thrilled! I love talking about gardening, and I look forward to learning new tips.

And I just learned this year that I really have a green thumb! Almost everything I have tended this year is bursting with health, and taking over the flower beds.

I moved to this house in Oct. 06, and the thing that won me over was the BACK YARD. My previous home had a teeny tiny yard , and the neighbors all seemed like they were 5 feet from my little back porch. This house is on a 9000 sq ft lot, and I only have a neighbor on one side. It's wonderful.

The house is in a covenant area near Wadsworth and 92nd.

The house was built in 1996, and I am the third owner. The first owners, , from 1996 to 2001, were real gardeners...I think the back yard was professionally landscaped at that time.

The next people however, did NOTHING. So it took me a good 2-3 years to get it cleaned up enough for easy management. I have taken pictures through the whole process , and I will have to figure out how to post them.

Up to now, I have not added ANY new landscaping.... just did fine tuning to what was already here. But the north side of my lot is a real wind tunnel, and desperately needs a bed of evergreens before next winter. I have been browsing all kind of pictures online and books at the library to get ideas, and that is how I came across this message board. :)

So, I am very happy to meet you all , and look forward to happy gardening!

Betty

Thank you for reporting this comment. Undo
Skybird - z5, Denver, Colorado

Hello, hello, Betty! Welcome to RMG! WeÂre glad you found us!

There are lots of people around here who can help you with just about any kind of questions you can come up with. And if you happen to ask something nobody knows the answer toÂwellÂweÂre good at guessing and making suggestions too!
;-)