Yellowing Leaves on Mexican Bush Salvia

marymilkweed(z9 Orlando FL)May 25, 2008

I am new to growing saliva and to this board. I have some yellowing of leaves at the base of my Mexican Bush Sage. The plants have been in the ground about 2 1/2 months and appear to be healthy and blooming otherwise. Are they getting too much or too little water? They are growing in full sun in fertile soil. Any help would be appreciated.

Thank you for reporting this comment. Undo
CA Kate

That stem is probably getting old and will be replaced by new growth --- at which point you can remove the old one.

Bookmark   May 25, 2008 at 9:38PM
hybridsage

Need more information Please.What is your soil like?
I would assume you have sandy soil as opposted to clay.
How has rainfall been in your area? Are leaves yellowing on
the interior part of the plant or all over? If your are
in sand and rain/irrigation has not been on a daily basis
it may be to dry.You may need to work in compost to retain
moisture & mulch helps with this too .FYI: Mine usually yellows if it is to dry the leaves will wilt in the hotest part of the day and not recover until watered.We will wait for more info before going any further , Thanks!

Bookmark   May 26, 2008 at 11:33PM
dallasmamaof2

I am having the same exact problem as the original post. Yellowing leaves, from the bottom upwards. The yellowed leaves are showing the leaf 'veins' as maroon. These are salvia mycrophyllia(I think...), variety "hotlips. I haven't had much rain (once last week) but I have been watering more near than normal near this bed because I recently seeded the grass near the bed. Is it possible this is too much water? The ground is defeinitely NOT soaking wet, and it's been about 100 these past few weeks, so it would seeem odd that it would be too wet.... Any ideas? I can provide a picutre, if necessary

Bookmark   July 4, 2008 at 3:26PM
rich_dufresne(z7 NC)