Great Gifts from Stush

bougainvillea(8b/ VA Beach)August 17, 2013

I had been waiting for the gifts to arrive and finally I received them yesterday :)
Thank you so much Stush. They are very beautiful plants, I love the pattern in the variegation on Bantel's sensation and the extra you included; Dwarf hahnii marginated.

I have been reading more about Bantel's sensation and so far I understand that....
1. It loves to get a warmer brighter spot (in winter).
2. Cold sensitive/ really hated cold (so watering should be less+ let it dry between watering in my opinion). What is the minimum temperature for it, especially in winter indoor?
3.The leaves are very susceptible to rust/ avoid splashing water onto the leaves. Is this true?

I am new to Sans and open to any suggestions for both Bantel's sensation and Dwarf hahnii marginated. Here are the pictures:

open the package :)

planted yesterday

from a different angle

hahnii marginated

another angle

Thank you :)
Natalia

Thank you for reporting this comment. Undo
barbmock

Natalia,

Don't they look nice! I think you will enjoy growing these two for a long time.

I think you have the right ideas on growing them. They should be fine if you keep them inside in a warm spot. Water about every three weeks or so in the winter. More water in the summer when it's hot.

Bookmark   August 18, 2013 at 10:29AM
Stush2049 Pitts. PA, zone 6

Good advise. I have lost some during winter due to 60 degree temps. The ones I had keep at min. 70's did well. My one great window is too cold during winter. This is where I had my greatest loss. All the ones I kept in my old fish tank (55 gal.) did well and with a few 20 w.lamps on yet. One shop lite double bulb lamps with 32 W. T8 bulbs is all a whole stand full would need.