I give up...

lindakimyJuly 27, 2006

I have looked all over and cannot find this salvia. I think it is an annual and it is probably common as corn. I got it from my friendly plant guy down at the local garden center (Bloomin Crazy) in our little village. He was about to Round Up a bunch of seedlings that had self started around his display tables and instead he pulled them up (unceremoniously) and sent them home with me (FREE!!!) in a plastic bag. So. I have a huge bunch of baby salvias that I have no idea what they are!

The one in question (sorry I do not have a photo) has fairly large leaves that are very wide at the stem and pointy - kinda heart shape or triangular. The flowers are two-tone. The top part is white and the bottom is a pale, delicate pink. Any ideas what this is? Are there going to be seeds? How and when do I gather them so I can wintersow and have more next year? (Can you tell I am really new at this?) There are a few of these that are bright red...but the leaves look exactly the same as the white and pink ones.

Thank you for reporting this comment. Undo
rich_dufresne(z7 NC)

Sounds like Salvia coccinea bicolor to me. It is the right time of year for a heavy seed set, then germination.

Bookmark   July 28, 2006 at 12:23AM
bossjim1

If your salvia looks like this, it is S.coccinea "Coral Nymph". If it is, I wouldn't bother with collecting seed. It will reseed itself prolificly, then in the spring you can dig all the seedlings you want and transplant where ever you want. This goes for all the salvia coccineas.

Bookmark   July 28, 2006 at 10:04AM
lindakimy

That sure looks like it! Thanks! It would be lovely to have some dependable repeaters.

Bookmark   July 28, 2006 at 1:36PM
Msrpaul(8bSC)

Nice garden pic bossjim

Bookmark   August 6, 2006 at 9:19PM
beanhead