I Neglected my Shade Garden...Tisk,.. Tisk

Heather__Michigan(Z5)September 23, 2005

I'm bad :( I didn't water my shade garden more than 3 times all summer. My hostas are yellow and my bleeding hearts are dead. And my astilbees never even sprouted, Does anyone think that they'll come back next spring?

I know I f..d Up I'm a newbie at this , I guess I'm looking for some encouragement, I feel horrible if I actually killed these plants.

H-

Thank you for reporting this comment. Undo
brighteyes(7)

If it makes you feel any better I did the same thing. Gonna amend the soil in the next couple weeks and hope for the best. Good luck with yours

Bookmark   September 23, 2005 at 10:55PM
susanlynne48(OKC7a)

Heather - don't feel bad. I think we all go thru this from time to time. I didn't water mine from late July thru September one year - everything died......or so I thought. However, in spring everything, and I mean, everything, came back up as though nothing happened at all. You may be pleasantly surprised. Normally, astilbes, bleeding hearts, and hostas, all die back this time of year anyway. They really like the cooler weather. Hosta, of course, would do better, if watered, but I bet you haven't lost any of them.

Susan

Bookmark   September 24, 2005 at 6:13PM
EGO45(6bCT)

If your astilbes never even sprouted THIS year you pretty much could write them off for the NEXT one.
Bleeding heart went dormant as it suppose to do in a middle of the summer, so this one should be fine.
Hostas in general are tough cookies and if they become yellow only by now, consider that as a sign of a Fall and count on them as a survivors.

Bookmark   September 24, 2005 at 6:46PM
aisgecko(7b Raleigh)

If you haven't had rain lately it's probably still not too late to water. Even though they go dormant the roots are still alive and watering during long dry periods (like we are having) could make the difference in whether or not they come back next year. -Ais.