a garden for 'Hope' among the oaks

cliff_4dSeptember 5, 2009

Will a Korean fir grow well in a shady white oak patch?

Baby Hope was born 8-24 and lived 36 hours. We brought her home and buried her on our own property among the oak trees. We intend to make this little family plot into a nice garden. Well meaning family and friends have brought plants and the above mentioned tree to help get the garden started, but i'm not sure they are the correct choice for the location. I live in Zone 7b in Oregon and the soil is mostly clay below the 6-10 inches of top soil. We wanted to plant roses but most require full sun, a ground cover rose has been donated,(Rosa x Noatraum). I am probably in over my head and would love any advise or encouragment. tks

Thank you for reporting this comment. Undo
gardenamateur

Well I am a relative amateur so I don't have a lot of great reccomendations but I am very very sorry for your loss. I guess you HAVE to plant among the oaks? I know its a tough spot ... I'd try woodland plants ... I don't know what roses grow well in shade but here is a site about woodland rose gardens:

http://www.woodlandrosegarden.com/rose/shade1.htm

Bookmark   September 17, 2009 at 2:21AM
kterlep(5/6)

What a beautiful idea. I don't know about fir (I'm a noob and not in your zone) but I would suggest dogwood, bleeding heart, lamium, periwinkle flower...

When I lived in Oregon (Portland) there was a gorgeous magnolia tree growing in the shade. It had the most gorgeous huge flowers...the smell was intoxicating.

I hope your hope garden brings you peace and love.

Bookmark   May 3, 2010 at 9:03AM
mike519(z7AL)

Cliff,