Help with seed starting/transplanting timing?

commgardener11March 6, 2011

I'm trying to come up with a schedule for things like starting seed indoors, succession planting, hardening off, transplanting, etc...

Are there any free "fill in the blank" schedulers out there that y'all like to use?

Is there really a big difference in 2 weeks succession between plants of the same variety vs. starting them at the same time?

Also, is hardening off time typically included in the instructions, "Start indoors 6-8 weeks before last spring frost"?

Thank you for reporting this comment. Undo
kelly7278

I'm a newbie so I can't really answer most of your questions, but I came across this article the other day with a helpful seed starting chart.

Here is a link that might be useful: Organic Gardening Seed Starting Chart

Bookmark   March 11, 2011 at 7:18PM
nanagarden(8)

[is hardening off time typically included in the instructions, "Start indoors 6-8 weeks before last spring frost"]
Yes it is.

[Is there really a big difference in 2 weeks succession between plants of the same variety vs. starting them at the same time?]
Yes, if you want a continuous crop of a specific item.

For example, I like fresh spinach and lettuce, if I plant seeds every week or two for 4-6 weeks I will have it available for a longer period of time.

It is really whatever your preference is.

Bookmark   March 12, 2011 at 1:40AM
kfischer103(5)